Are the developers aware of the incredibly slow undo and general slowness?

Not sure if this has always been an issue but it REALLY needs prioritizing. Once a scene gets to over something like 4m faces, it takes about 10 seconds to undo. In fact, lots of operations take 10 seconds. Like assigning and creating new materials.

Please please no one say (because I know someone who’s been using 3d for a year will be reading this and about to reply)… but that’s what happens with large scenes, right? NO! I’ve been using 3d software since 1999 and have never seen a slow undo once with the exception of something like Zbrush when you make a big calculation that it stores in cache and has to revert after an undo.

Like, I’m using cutting edge 2019 software and I’m having to avoid hitting undo. !??!

In earliers blender versions (to 2.79) it works well, but in the 2.8 we have got whole diffrent, new viewport, thats need to be improved by the time. I think, that developers have already known about this problem and I hope that they will fix this asap. Yeah, I’m agree with you, it’s sometime really painful.

It’s a known issue but not easy to solve, it is being tracked with this ticket

3 Likes

that explains some of the weird behavior I am getting. Yesterday deleting the cube, undo did not bring the cube back but redo did.

It looks like the undo system is still a WIP. They cannot not be aware of it , its kinda obvious. But that does not mean it will be fixed any time soon.

If I remember correctly there was some kind of overhaul in the undo system which may explain why its so clunky. Blender has been a big step forward but no, I never remember Blender experiencing problems with the undo before either. It’s definitely a new thing but no worries, devs will fix it eventually.