Armature trouble

Ok…

I’m fairly new to blender. I’ve 3-D modeled before, but I’ve never skinned, animated, or anything.

I’ve got “BLENDER 2.3 GUIDE”, that official book you can buy from the blender website. The version of blender I’m running is 2.36, and I’m running it in Linux, I believe. My main problem is that there seems to be some subtle details left out throughout the extent of the book, so rather than being able to easily read through the instructions, perform them, and learn, I have to figure out my way around all these minor inconsistencies. First and foremost, if anyone knows; am I using an out-of-date book? Should I get a new book, or switch to the older version of Blender 2.3? I can’t use the CD-Rom that was supposed to come with the book because it got bound into the stitching (some sort of manufacturing problem, and I bought it used so I don’t think I can ask for a new one). Then again, I tried using a windows version of the older 2.3, but it was so bewilderingly different that my Linux blender matched up with it better (hotkeys didn’t even work). I’m probably going on a tangent now, so I’ll get to my main problem.

I’m having trouble with bones/armatures, for posing. I’m pretty sure I know how to create armatures where I want them, and I think I know how to parent them to the model (using “create from closest bones”), but I’m having some really weird trouble with what the book says and what it shows on my screen.

When I create an armature, it goes on wanting to create a bone chain.

The book says to press “ESC” to exit out of this and go on creating armatures. I do this, but I’ve also found that I can “cut off” the bone chain, though, by pressing the left mouse button or the escape key. Bone chain is now cut off.