Arrays and Dupligroups for railway

Hi- I am building some railway track and I’d like to use dupligroups to make my railway sleepers. I can then make many copies to move them where they need to be, but ideally I’d like to use an array. For example I’ve used dupligroups, then using duplicate and transform to make about 100 in a straight line, but it will be very difficult to go around a curve. There doesn’t seem to be a way of applying an array to a ghost object (one that uses dupligroups). Similarly, one can make an array of a basic object and swap it out for the sleeper - but it must be the original sleeper, not one of the dupligroup ones. Any ideas???

Attachments

Why do you not just make a single bar, add an array modifier and a curve modifier? Why are the dupligroups necessary?

Thanks for the quick response. I am new to blender, been working at for four months. I read somewhere that dupligroups will cut down on render times. I am going to have 500-1000 sleepers in the scene. Also they need a bit more detail than just a bar.

I don’t think dupligroups would cut down on render time at all. It’s still rendering the same ammount of geometry. If anything it would probably make it display in the viewport a little faster, if you’re having lag issues with that. (I could be wrong).

Well, by “bar” I meant the entire “sleeper”, containing as much detail as you like. I would just set it up, then in the array modifier, set it to not display in the viewport if you don’t need it. So. then it will render, but not slow you down at all while you’re working

Thanks again! I’ll try it and report back soon