Aslan, The Lion of Sinaï -- Blender Bootcamp

PROJECT: ASLAN

Hey guys!

I’m going to use this thread to ask questions and study Blender. My project is to build a character in Blender and Zbrush that I dubbed Aslan, The Lion of Sinaï. He’s a Turkish exosuit from an alternate WW1 scenario, blending some of my comic book and dieselpunk influences. I only have sketches and rough ideas atm so I’m going to figure it out as I go.

TL;Dr about me: I am a graphic designer from Brussels who studies 3D in his off-time. My previous model Project: Bulle (https://vimeo.com/151514760) was made in Maya with the help from the awesome people at SimplyMaya forums. They really pulled me through the tough learning curve but I managed to blast my way through five sets of software in a single project, that bastard took me six months to make :evilgrin:. After Bulle I decided to get serious about 3D, so because I want to start doing 3D in my design aswell I needed a software that a broke graphic designer could afford. I then heard about this program Blender that was completely free, and holy christ, it feels great aswell. Blender all the way!

I’m probably going to run into a wall at every other intersection, so I hope I can get some tips from the pros on here. Thanks for reading!

V

Attachments

Progress from the weekend. I’m taking quite well to Blender, the fact that it can model on the same level as Maya is insane considering it’s a free program and maya is so expensive :eek: Blender forever!

http://i.imgur.com/SQtvYon.png

http://i.imgur.com/LnbLgIV.png

Attachments

I have a few things I couldn’t figure out, I was wondering if you guys could help me out

1. Protext vertices (without hiding)

I found my way around the Mirror Modifier, but what I don’t understand is how one can freeze vertices without hiding them? Now I often have to re-align the center edges, and hiding takes out the faces that are there aswell.

1. Rotate pivot alignment