Asset browser / user library workflow

I’m new in asset browser and want to clear correct workflow for adding new pieces in user library.
Do I have to save all projects there I want to mark new asset?
For example I’m working on big project, I want mark some asset in the project, do I have to save whole heavy project file in asset library for only 1 asset?

In my dreams I can send asset from current file to my library, only asset that I marked not whole project.

My question as well. It seems you save the assets when you save your blend file. But that doesn’t make sense. I want to build an asset library that will open with any blender file, not just one. Under pref>File Paths Asset lib you can set the location of the assets lib. But how do you save it then?

I added an object and a material to the All category, then saved the startup file, closed blender, and when I reopened it the assets were there. But I hope that’s not the procedure.

Another discovery - When I edit a saved object to the browser you can’t update in the browser. Also, If you delete an object from the viewport that its also deleted from the browser. This is a great example of I have no idea how this works and it’s a beta.

2 Likes

https://gitlab.com/tibicen/simple-asset-manager

2 Likes

Yes, thanks, Ozgur1, there are many addons, But I want native to blender. Personally, I like PyClone by Andy Peel. If AB is still funky come 12/1/21 I will go back to PyClone. The thing is I have hundreds of assets and don’t want to spend all my time setting up a lib only to do it again and again.

1 Like

You can add the path to any folder on your computer as a library folder. You don’t have to use the 1 default location.