Assistance on how to rig using armature

Hello, I am new to Blender and am following a tutorial, and have run into issues trying to rig and animate using armature bones.
Firstly, when every time a new armature is created it isn’t aligned to the global axes, is there a way to change this?
Even after rotating and fixing the alignment, when placing the end of the bone the rotation skews again as seen in the following picture

To position the bone first the cursor is moved to a selected object and then the end of the bone is moved to the cursor.
Is there a better way to be doing this or some tick box option I’m missing?
The bones being of kilter on their axes seems to be creating endless problems for me as I work through the tutorial.

It’s not clear whether you mean an armature (as in the armature object) or a bone, can you please clarify? In either case, when you create an object (any object type) or a new bone in an existing armature, it should appear at the 3d cursor location, aligned with world axes.

When you say “rotating”, I assume you mean “adjusting the bone’s roll value”? Bones are defined by their two endpoints and a roll value, which you can recalculate with shift+N if you always want it to point up, or in a specific direction (usually +Z). You can also reset the roll value from the sidebar (N) by hovering your pointer over it and pressing backspace.

You can directly move the bone endpoints (head & tail) and snap them to geometry or other objects, but sometimes placing the 3d cursor and going shift+S->“selection to cursor” is more accurate.

Blockquote It’s not clear whether you mean an armature (as in the armature object) or a bone,

I haven’t ever used blender for rigging or animation, when your saying the armature has an object I assume you mean something separate from the bone that spawns in when I use the “add” pop up menu.