Athletic girl (WIP)

Hi

This is my first character, I’ve been working on her off and on for a few months now. Head, face and feet are still going to get a lot of work, for now I’m focussing on getting the body completed.

I’m trying to get an athletic feel, so I’m going for muscular but feminine. I can’t help feeling that the shoulders are a little too broad or something, and the shoulders / armpits, muscles of arm, and the elbows can all use quite a bit of work. The upper surface of the shoulders seem to extend outwards too much.

Some critique of the work to date would be great.

Thanks

Women’s hips are a bit wider than their shoulders. It doesn’t have to be blatent, but check your dimensions and adjust either the shoulders or the hips. I’d be cautios about putting ‘cuts’ on her muscles to show athleticism. Women naturally have more body fat, so divisions between muscles even on very athletic women are softened unless they combine serious dieting with their sports. You seem to be avoiding this problem so far.

Overall, looks good. Are the clothes part of the body mesh or are they added on top?

The overall proportions look good, though the head seems a bit small. The sweep of the trapezius muscles into the neck seem too broad, the neck could use bit more verticality on the sides. The area of the deltoids is particularly rough and needs work. This is a very problematic part of the body regardless of gender – the relationship between the deltoid, pectoral and bicep/tricep muscle groups is very complicated, with a lot of convoluted insertions and overlaps. Gather a ton of refs and study how this area reacts to shoulder flex – try to introduce some greater definition of the muscle groups involved.