Basic texturing question

Hi all, I am new to Blender and 3D modelling in general and have a very basic texturing question. I have a scene with a courtyard which simply consists of 4 connected walls (one object) which have no thickness. I just want to add a stone wall texture to the inside of this which I am having a lot of trouble with. I cannot get the correct mapping option and I can’t find documentation about it that I can understand. I have tried the default Generated option as well as Object. If I use Generated then the image is stretched to the dimensions of the wall. If I use Object then I enter a whole world of pain - if I choose the wall object as the Object property the orientation of the wall seems to affect the mapping result - so two ends of the courtyard look correct but the other two do not. If I choose no Object as the Object property then when the camera moves, so does the texture.

My basic questions are:

1. Do I need to make 4 separate walls and map them individually or can I just have a single 4 walled object?
  2. What is the best mapping method - one of the 2 I have tried so far or UV or something else?
  3. Can someone point me to documentation or tutorial that shows what I am trying to achieve?

I’m guessing what I want to do is pretty simple - I want to apply a simple repeatable texture to a flat surface and for the pattern to repeat if I decide to change the size of the surface. Basically I’m pretty confused about all this and would welcome a pointer in the right direction. Thanks.

Hello, I am a newbie myself but will try to help as best as I can,

UV is very good because you have control over what is mapped where. Read this:

However this will not work very well if your wall is huge compared to each brick, because you will
need a huge image and that will slow things down. There you need some repeating texture.

See if this example helps (a cube with coordinates “generated”, projection “cube”)