bed sheet

trying to make a bed sheet with the timeline and while it looks like cloth it looks to perfect. Is there a way to add some folds to make it look a little more real? I don’t need it to look slept in, just not flat. I’m also really new to this type of modeling (timeline and collisions and the physics modifier) so keep it in mind if you can answer and thanks in advance.

how about using some wind to blow it around a bit.

Or a displace modifier…It’s a good, non destructive, way to add real geometry variation.

I have the strength a bit high to illustrate it.
0) Add a displace modifier

1. Click new texture
  2. Turn the strength down to ~.08
  3. Click the button to the right of texture (to switch to textures)
  4. Change from clouds to one of the others, voronoi, stucci, noise…
  5. Tweak the strength back in the modifier, and test different texture parameters.

@Modron blow it around? are you being smart or is that a modifier function?

@ Blenderalldat I will try tonight or tomorrow, it’s 5 o’clock somewhere and somewhere is here.

Add some uneven geometry to the mattress underneath the sheet. Extruding a few random faces up a tiny bit will be more than enough.

how do I apply the changes made by the simulator to stay on the affected surface?

@Orinoco I was actually trying that but the cloth kept slipping off the bed, I’ve flattened them down and got a nice result but I think I need to do something called baking.

@Blenderallday, I will keep the displacement workflow in mind when I do this, thank you.

@Modron Now I see it, I thought you were being a smartass! Unfortunatly you opened a door to far too many possibilities than I can invest in but now want to get sidetracked.

You could simply sculpt the wrinkles onto the sheet mesh:

Find a frame in which the sheet looks to your liking.