Beginner's Guide to Scripting in Blender.

Hi, I’m rather new to Blender and have worked with both 2.49 and 2.53. I have also learned a some Python 2.6 and would like to learn how write a simple script (to do anything simple), but am not sure how to actually integrate Python with Blender. Can someone point me towards a “beginner’s” guide for scripting in Blender with Python.

I also just began learning Python 3, but am not there yet where I could use it with any level of success in Blender or otherwise.

Thank you for your help,
Fulano

The info about how to use Pyton in Blender 2.53 is yet ‘wide spread’ but see scripting examples
http://blenderartists.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11

A good start is to learn using the Scripting ( click a little bit left to Default above and chose ‘Scripting’)
Below left you find a python-console!

Your first attempts try to see ‘things’ working:
type there

o = bpy.data.objects['Cube'] # the startup Cube!
od = o.data
od
od.verts
od.verts.values() #after dir(od.verts)
[/code/
etc.

type e.g. there bpy. and than “ctrl-space” … to see what bpy supports

Thank you PKHG, I appreciate the help, but I hate to admit, I’m still a bit lost. I need the “paint-by-numbers” version of scripting at my stage. I was hoping to find a tutorial or a PDF that would guide me through some simple examples -maybe like making a ball bounce, or changing a cube’s dimensions in a certain manner, etc. It can be either the 2.49 or 2.53 versions, I just need to see how Python sets its hooks into blender so that I can begin to figure it out.

Thanks again,
Fulano

Hey Fulano,
I just started scripting in blender as well, and honestly the best way I’ve found is by reading other’s code bundled with blender in the .blender/scripts/ folder (2.49) or 2.53/scripts/ folder (2.53). So far though, 2.53 has a much steeper learning curve imho. Anyway, try reading those along with the API - been the best tools yet for learning this. GLHF