Best Method of making wallpapers and other texture related questions

I am building a room, the walls are done and I want to make a wallpaper on it.
Since I’ve never done this before, what is the best method?

I tried to make seams at the edge of every corner of the room, around the ceiling, door + windows and unwrapped it, but it is nowhere the same scale and bent. Can I unwrap it in some sort of way so that it keeps its original measurements?

Another method I was thinking about is, making it like you do in the real world, (except texturing one single piece of wallpaper) and putting it like one blender unit in front of the wall and do this all around until the room is full of that single pieces (this is maybe a stupid idea, now reading this)

I’ve seen some tutorials about texturing, but they don’t answer my questions.
Are there any tutorials who explain the unwrapping and stuff in detail?

The first method is the best way, it’s hard to avoid uv distortion but adding seams in the right places helps. For example, you may have to split a wall into two pieces, and or tweak the uv’s in the editor by hand.

Is your room square, or does it have curvy walls. Can you post a pic, then i can suggest the appropriate method :slight_smile:

I would think setting map input to ‘object’ and using an empty to scale the texture would be the way to go. Assuming it is a rectangular type room.

Thanks for the replies.
No the room isn’t exactly Square. I also want the floor and some parts of the windows don’t have that same texture. When unwrapping, it unwraps everything even if it is not selected, it shows up on the exported tga file. How do I do that? Separating the parts as new objects, which I don’t want to be textured with “wallpaper”, sounds possible, but there must be better way.:no:
Here is a picture

Edit 1 And I wonder, if I use the same texture for bumpmapping, do both textures has to have the same material settings, like shading, mirror and such (if used)?

Edit 2