Biting off more than I can chew, trying to learn all aspects of Blender

This might be a bit wordy, but I need to lay out the problems I am experiencing using Blender. First off, it might have something to do with my age…getting close to 76, but I don’t think I am losing that much of my retention abilities.

I was a professional illustrator and easel painter (oils, acrylics) for most of my life. I semi-retired when I hit 66 but continued to paint for a few galleries in Hawaii where I lived for over 45 years.

I used Blender for at least the last 20 or 25 years, but only to model basic objects that would use as reference for my paintings, such as whales or outrigger canoes that I could pose and crudely light within Blender. I loved using Blender for that. I found it to be an amazing tool. But that was as far as I took it. I never really hand-painted or textured anything and I never had to animate any of the objects I modeled. So I didn’t concern myself with topology or in-depth lighting, much less learning texture mapping and hand painting, rigging, animating, rendering, and compositing. So I never dove into the guts and details of the software.

I had a dream of digitally reproducing a model of the HMS Victory ship when I retired and kept that in the back of my mind for many years. Guys in my parents’ generation often retired and made wooden models of ships. ( Loved the period of the Age of Sail.) This, then, was my more modern version of that retirement hobby.