Blender 2.62 r44136 User Preference Problem

Greeting everyone,

I am new to this and have just downloaded the newest version of Blender to my laptop to give it a whirl. (Moderator, please move the the appropriate area if not posted correctly!)

After watching numerous beginner tutorials I have begun to navigate the User Preferences menus. Most “tabs” react immediately and load the appropriate configurable contents, however when I click on the “Systems” tab, Blender goes into a “Not Responding” state and hangs. (I’ve left this hang for up to an hour, thinking Blender/Python might be scanning the system to create parameters. I had to force-close the application after waiting.)

I am running Blender on a new HP Envy17-3D Laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit. I have downloaded and installed all the newest updates and drivers for the machine.

I’ve tried load Blender using the stand-a-lone 64bit ZIP method and then tried it by installing to the machine using MSI 64bit installer after discovering the problem. I end up in the “Not Responding” situation in both methods of running Blender when I click the System tab.

I run Kasperskys Internet Security Anti-Virus and after checking the settings, I find that Blender is a trusted app and should give access to system setting and should not be the problem.

Any ideas why this is happening, or is Blender just not compatable with my laptop?

Summary of Laptop specs

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i7 740QM @ 1.73GHz 78 °C
Clarksfield 45nm Technology
RAM
8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 659MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
Hewlett-Packard 1590 (CPU) 76 °C
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor 1920x1080 pixels
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850 (HP) 74 °C
Hard Drives
977GB Western Digital WDC WD10TPVT-65HT5T0 (SATA) 41 °C
Optical Drives
hp BDDVDRW CA21N
Audio
IDT High Definition Audio CODEC

Graphics card specs

Monitor
Name Generic PnP Monitor on ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850
Current Resolution 1920x1080 pixels