Blender compositor insted of After Effects?

Hi!

I have a question about general experience of integrating blender in the pipeline. In project of yours blender can completely substitute After Effects? In a small size animation studio worth it to completely use the “Blender Way” in production enviroment?

Im a manager of a new firm, and i have no past experience of Blender, but we belive in opensource and want to give a try.

Please reply experiences.

Thanx!

well, speaking for myself only, it seems to be easier to do things in After Effects than in Blender. that’s not to say that you couldn’t accomplish many of the same things in blender, but as an AE user for several years now who’s been trying to use blender’s compositor for more things lately, AE by and large does things easier and faster.
Of course, this could mainly be caused by the learning curve of the node system as opposed to AE’s interface…I’m just speaking from my own recent experience. I think compositing in Blender requires more in-depth knowledge of how to make effects work because you have to build a lot of things yourself with nodes (which is why I say AE does things easier and faster).

Blender is a lot more like Nuke than AE in terms of compositing. Most things you can do in AE can certainly be done in Blender, but there will always be trade-offs between commercial and open source software.

Thanx for the answer. Of course the learning curve is a basic question, but i thinking about is blender compositing capability now is enough to be a studios only compositing solution? (when artist can handle the software well) Or there is a need for an other external compositing software in the pipeline? (again, aside from the users knowledge)
Is wort to step by step replace the external comp. soft. to blender and set-up a full pipeline for opensource?