Blender for low budget short film production?

Hey Guys,
I’m new to this forum, and I’ve come here primarily to pick your much more knowledgeable brains on the subject of film production with Blender!

Basically, I’ve been producing low budget films in the UK for the last 2 years, and also develop TV programmes. Whilst I’m getting these features and TV projects produced, I’ve also been reading a lot of short and feature scripts to find some really worthy projects. Now, in the last few months, I’ve found and helped to develop a short film script that I believe has the potential to be really great. Generally speaking, short films don’t hold much excitement for me, but this script was really enjoyable and very interesting, and I felt that it would be worth producing if possible.
The problem is however, the film is ambitious. It’s basically a sort of psychological horror, and features 2 characters (a common thief and a court jester) seemingly trapped in a gigantic labyrinth of a castle, for a reason they do not fully understand. Naturally, the issue is, we don’t have access to any gigantic castles without a fairly big budget, and getting a short film financed is pretty difficult, especially when you’d need quite a decent amount of money to do it!
So, naturally I have been looking at alternative and interesting ways to shoot the film. Our first though was to shoot it similar to ‘300’ or ‘Sin City’ - against green screen with CG elements. We toyed with this idea for a while, but realised that even then the budget would probably be £150k+ (or $300k+) to shoot it properly, and that was a cost we simply could not afford.