Blender is very good as a video editor

Hi,

I majored in cinema so I have used a lot of paid/free apps for video editing.

Blender gave me quite a headache while learning modeling and texturing, but it’s actually very good as a video editor.

Many video editors are limitd for the free use, or many of them are too bloated/too slow.
I was surprised how simple/fast/useful blender is for editing video files.

Heck, I don’t have to pay for the adobe premiere anymore.

I just wanted to say I agree with you!

While I don’t do anything special with my video editing (just chopping up video segments), blender has been the best so far in just doing that. I tried a lot of other open source or freeware video editors and most of them were either broken and crashed very often or had a really tedious workflow.

I had totally forgot that blender could edit video till I stumbled on a “top 5 open source video editors” that listed blender. I’m really happy now that I use my favourite 3d modelling program for video editing also :slight_smile:

Who is the winner ? :wink:

I agree, but on one thing its not that handy.
I wished it had an easy way to drop text on Video Editing / Compositing
So we could more simply add text for, subtitles, titles, notations.
Text like that is just plain 2D text font over a render result, so on top of the movie frame. and doesnt need to be rendered text in layers or so. Besides that i agree

Wasn’t this added recently? IIRC about a week ago someone added the ability to add subtitles easily. But I haven’t tried it out yet so I might be mistaken.

Did you manage to output usable h.264 video files?
I like the video editor but never managed to generate a video file that works across platforms like a h.264 made with adobe media encoder.
Maybe I just haven’t found the right settings yet, but I tried (and failed) a lot.

I didn’t even know you could do such a thing in blender

Here’s info. :slight_smile: