Blender Japan

Starting in the spring, I’m going to be teaching a first year seminar on modeling in Blender in the computer science department of a Tokyo area women’s college, where I work as a lecturer. It should be a lot of fun. A big problem is resources, though. Two books exist in Japanese, but both of them are for Blender 2.2*, so they’re a long way out of date. I have managed to find a couple Japanese websites for Blender documentation, but these are also kind of lagging behind. Not that I would expect anybody on this forum to know about what other Blender resources are out there in Japanese… but I’m curious if there are any Japanese people in here.

I don’t think we’re going to get much beyond pretty basic 3D modeling in the first semester (first year college students don’t tend to be as driven as self-studiers of something like Blender) so probably the major upgrades since the books won’t be as big a problem… Probably no animation, probably no physics… Unless it’s something I create resources for myself, if they seem really into it.

Also, the lack of resources in Japanese could be kind of a good thing, as I want to try to encourage the students to study their English as well, and this should provide some motivation. They are first year students, as I said, so I also think it’s a cool way to impress upon them the potential of free, open source software.

In any case, I’m sure that the average user of Elysiun will welcome the idea of a potential influx of Japanese college girls in here… Comb your hair, boys!

I was waiting for you to say that :]
Arigato!
P

Awsome news!

And Yah Blender changes so darn fast is hard to keep up with docs let alone international versions.

glomps japanese girls ;p

I have managed to find a couple Japanese websites for Blender documentation, but these are also kind of lagging behind.

Then you obviously haven’t found yam_yam’s site yet:

and I don’t know how up to date these guys are but it’s a doc translation site: