Blender Material Repository - Call For Action

I’d like to initiate a discussion about getting an official Blender material repository on-line. The old one appeared to be going through a re-vamp a year ago when its maintainer went on a trip (according to his Twitter feed) at which point the updates, and I assume the development of the site, stopped. I appreciate the work that the original site creator put into both the old and new sites, but after waiting for news about the “new” BMR since last June, I think it would be fair to say that his new site’s launch may never happen.

Not being a C programmer, I have been unable to contribute to the Blender community from the code side. I’ve purchased all the Blender books that have been published and buy other things from the Blender E-Shop, but I never really feel like I’ve contributed enough to Blender. If I can rally support behind getting an official materials site on-line and provide the hosting costs, I think I’d feel like I’ve given back to the Blender community.

I know Python, PHP, MySQL and some JavaScript and have done some customization of Wordpress themes. I wouldn’t have time to build a site from scratch alone, but would be able to do back-end admin and some minor scripting and CSS. If I could recruit a small team to take care of the rest of the development I’d be happy to pay for domain registration and hosting costs for the first five years.

If any of you have any thoughts on my proposal or would like to contribute towards the development in some way, just respond here on the forum. Once the team is in place and work begins on the site itself, we can take the conversation off to our own discussion forum or other medium.

Let me know what you think!

Cheers!