Blender, Maya, 3DS Max

This post is about something that surprised the hell out of me regarding Blender 2.83.2, Maya 2020, and 3DS Max 2021. I invite you to sit back while I regale you with a tale of art, love, loss, and (hopefully) reawakening.

When I was in art college (1985 to 1989) my focus was on 3D animation using Sculpt-Animate 4D on an Amiga. It was all triangles in wireframe, brute-force animation (ie. move each vertex for every frame), and looooong waits for the screen to refresh every time any change was made. The software was dead simple which meant I (and every other vertex jockey) was an expert after three weeks of playing around.

Then came the lean times, the bankruptcy, and years of trying to get back on our feet. 3D animation became no more than a fading dream.

In 2010, I retired from the civil service and a few months later, I started learning Blender. It was sooooo different from what I remembered and I complained constantly: ā€œWhy isnā€™t ā€˜yā€™ up? Why are there so many hidden features?ā€ blah-blah-blah.

I wanted to switch to Max or Maya because I thought they were better toolsā€¦ more complete, more professionalā€¦ even their names were cooler. But the cost was prohibitive to a retired guy and they just werenā€™t buying my story about being a student. Yeah, maybe I should have tried to convince them I was a teacher instead. Eventually, I came grumbling back to Blender because, despite not really liking it, it was all I could afford.

And I threw in the towel time and time again. I got work as an actor (Thirteen Downs, The Picture in the House, The Escapement) but that didnā€™t pan out, so back I came to Blender.

Years of struggling led me to believe that if ever Maya became at all affordable, Iā€™d sell my soul so I could switch.