Blender n-gons game asset management

Hi, i am a relative beginner. I have a question that i am not able to answer, i know that in general n-gons are fine on flat surfaces if the model doesn’t have to be deformed and quads are not necessary all the times. The problem is: i had to make this asset, and for now i really like the boolean workflow because it’s fast. After the boolean if the shading is ok use the triangulation modifier and as far as i know inside the game engine then everything should be fine. I also have to keep the polycount low.
The problem is that the guy who gave me the task asked to not leave n-gons, so i tried to convert it to quads with knife but it’s really tedious and long so i hope to don’t have to do this again honestly. The polycount is also much higher compared to the first model with n-gons, and since i have to keep the polycount low this makes no sense to me. My idea was to model with my boolean workflow and simply apply the triangolation in the end. In fact the model with n-gons and triangulation has exactly the same as the one with quads and the shading is perfect. What can i do to avoid using knife for 2 hours to make all quads? I really enjoy modelling but i don’t know what to in this case and for future models requested by the same person.

Thanks in advance

Using booleans is not part of the usual workflow when your goal is clean quads and tris, especially for game assets.

I realize the image you’ve posted in an example (and thus, the following doesn’t apply to ALL cases), but there’s nothing about that window asset that required using booleans at all. It could easily be done with simple cuts, insets, and extrusions.

You led with “you’re a beginner”, so I suggest you spend some time learning to model at a more basic polygon level, without trying to use booleans for a quick shortcut. They are not the proper method, for your stated goal.

1 Like