Blinking and Expressions With Cartoon Eyes

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to Blender (and 3D modeling in general), so please bare with me.

What I need to do is to be able to blink the eyes and to make simple expressions with them (Mad, sad, etc.). But a little background first.

I am starting work on a cartoon. The character that I have is completely modeled. I began the animation process by getting his mouth to move with Shape Keys, which will eventually be connected to the armature with drivers. That seems easy.

The part that I am having a terrible time with is the eyes. Actually, my character only has one eye. I separated it into the eyeball, upper eyelid, and lower eyelid. Basically, I followed this simple tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNxittnVdlE. This is how his eye is currently modeled, although mine is a little flatter.

It seems that with the eye parented to the lattice that I won’t be able to make expressions, just blink.

Realizing this, I have also tried removing the lattice, rescaling the eye the way I want, and then start making Shape Keys. This seems to not work well at all. The eyelids deform horribly when doing a simple rotation to simulate a blink. Also, this will make it a lot harder to make different expressions with the eye: mad, sad, surprised, etc.

It almost seems that making a cartoon eyeball is hopeless. Is there a way around this? I’m fairly new to this, so I’m guessing I just haven’t been exposed to the proper way of doing this.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Nevermind. I’ll just make a regular looking set of eyelids. :frowning: