Blue Flavored Gelatin in a Glass Dish

Hey all,
This is my first attempt at making something with physics simulations involved. I hope to over-fill this glass bowl with delicious blue flavored gelatin cubes, and maybe top it with whipped cream and a spoon. When finished, this will be part of a fun T-shirt to wear at an upcoming web developer event.

I’m having a lot of fun with this so far, but am struggling a touch. Note how some of the gelatin is spiky and poking out of the glass. I’m wondering how to bake/kill the simulation part, adjust shapes, then dump on some more cubes with a separate simulation. Is there a term I should search for to get started on that?

I used the Cycles engine at 2,000 samples. The gelatin material is a mix shader of glass and glossy blue (glossy a bit brighter blue). The glass is about 7 units tall, with 0.5 unit sized cubes.

Thanks for taking a look! :smiley:

I figured out the glass piercing oddness. If one point makes it past into the glass, it gets caught there while the rest of the cube jiggles away, causing a “spike”. Setting the glass collision settings -> “soft body and cloth” -> “outer” or “inner” increased, seemed to fix it (can’t recall at the moment which one I changed). I also tweaked some cloth settings to make the cubes more sturdy.

One odd thing I noticed is that there is a light reflection from the inside AND outside of the glass. Anyone else run into this?

Fantastic! I look at this and actually taste jello :slight_smile:

Regarding the light reflection from both the inside and the outside of the glass, that is physically correct and happens in the real world. Every time a light ray encounters a new surface (as defined by hitting a new material with a change in index of refraction), there will be a new set of reflected/transmitted rays.

Oh good! Thanks for the clarification on that. I appreciate it. :smiley: