Building a custom PC for Blender 2.8

I’m very new to blender and I’ve recently decided for some new projects I want to start learning 3D.

As a life long Mac user, my current machines are Macs, they don’t seem to handle much well and I’ve been reading that building a custom PC is the way to go. However, in researching this over the last month - trying to understand all the different pieces of hardware and their capabilities is proving far more difficult.

I was hoping for some clear guidance on PC builds and compatibility, and which is best to purchase for my specific needs.

I want this to be relatively future proof so I don’t mind upping the budget at this time in hopes I can use it much longer term, as opposed to going too low budget now and needing to upgrade later. My budget is around $3-4k AUD.

My main focus is to learn 3D animation and have fast viewport and rendering time for:

• Fluid/particle simluations (my current Mac computer struggles quite a bit to run even a 100 frame 10,000 particle viewport render.)
  • Photorealistic image renders, maybe short video. Cities, landscapes, close ups of objects.
  • Realistic architecture or small groupings of buildings to create a photorealistic city scene.

I’ve spent a large amount of time trying to read up on AMD vs Intel, graphics cards, cooling systems and mother boards and I feel like the more I come to be aware of these things, the amount I need to understand triples.

I have used many of the PC builder sites but I want some specifics on what I need for the above points, I’m seeing a lot of different information on forums about trying to go for the best CPU or GPU, then contradicting information saying the best GPU is only needed for extremely high level rendering for games.