Building computer help

To all you people out there that know about computers,

I’m looking to build a custom computer, basically for running newer games like saints row 2 and gta 4, with decent speed and graphics settings, i’ll also use it for blendering and other 3d work but that’s kinda irrelevant cause the computer i’ve got at the moment is good enough for that.

I’ve never built a computer before, but i’m going to at school this week (start anyway, don’t know how long it should take) with one of there old machines so i can learn what’s involved.

Basically i’m wondering how much i’d be looking at paying for a computer like this. Also if your feeling generous, list some good components to use.

Thanks for any help,
Chris

Also any usefull websites would be much appreciated

The best advise I can give is; options are good. No matter what you do don’t skimp on the mobo. Gamers started by overclocking nice Asus machines. Now high end AMDs are the hot item. Make sure and fit the case to the mobos’ form factor and match the power supply perfectly. From there just install the best supported hardware you can get your hands on. Don’t leave any fan connecters blank. You gotta keep it cool.

www.newegg.com is a good place to start looking at components.

At the bare minimum you will need:
Case
Motherboard
CPU
RAM
Hard Drive
Optical Drive
Video Card

I leave soundcard and ethernet card off the list, because most motherboard have some sort of onboard sound and LAN, and they are usually more than sufficient for playing games.