building modeling

Ok so I’m making a building and I’m designing the hallways etc. I am still really new to blender. So I’m just winging it and I’m not sure what is the right way or wrong way. Anyways I’ve doing retopology adding where I want doors and hallways etc. Also with patience centering and scaling distances between vertices.

The idea is that when I extrude these up it will create my doors and hallways and not have an unneccesary amount of subdivisions in the floor. If I need more later on I can easily select them and subdivide or loopcut.

I still need to figure out how to texture the floors etc… I’ve made tatami and hardwood type textures in Gimp. That’s really the only thing I can see that this might mess up or end up being a big waste of time. (not really a waste since i’m learning how different tools work etc as I go on :D) Will it create problems when I get to that? This is what it looks like right now:

I’ll be browsing to see if I can find any floor texture tutorials before proceeding x.x

Is that the bmesh branch you’re using? If not, you have to remember Blender doesn’t support n-gons and your mesh is non-continuous. The various pieces happen to align, but they’re in fact ripped apart. You can see that by grabing a vertex from the middle of a wall and moving it around. However, since these are nothing but simple walls that you won’t be beveling or subsurfing, it may not affect you in the end. So I guess it’s a sound approach, if a little messy.

one trick when dealing with flat surfaces like walls, is, to seperate ( split ) the bits that are more high poly from the lower poly bits. since everything is flat, you only need the edges to line up to give the illusion of a solid surface. the command to split is ‘Y’.