button window location for blender 2.57b

Im new to blender and Im following super3boy’s video tutorials. Ive just started the third lesson in his series, but he was using an earlier blender version than my 2.57b version and he requires the use of “BUTTON WINDOWS” which Iam not finding in the menus he’s pointing out. the window he has open, “if i am correct,” displays titles such as “Link and Materials”, “Mesh”, “Multires”, “Modifiers”, and “Shapes”. can you you help with the location of this window.

Buttons window = look at the properties window on the right hand side of your screen
Modifiers = see the spanner icon in this window
Link and Materials = see the round red material icon in this window
Multires = under Modifiers
Shapes = see the Object Data (triangle icon) in this window
Just stop messing about and watch tutorials made with the current version. There are tons about.

I’m new too and, since I’m with other people working, at present I can only use the less updated written documentation, not video tutorials.
With 2.57b I can’t reach the toolbox and its contexts as shown here
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Reference/Menus/Toolbox

pressing “space” this is the result:

pressing shift + a the Add menu comes up

pressing the mouse buttons (left or right) for more then half a second nothing happens

how do you reach contexts in 2.57?

The toolbox you show is a blender 2.4x thing. To get a similar option in the File / User Preferences / Addons panel, activate the Dynamic Spacebar menu addon. Use Ctrl+U to save this as a default. pressing the spacebar will then give you more options.

Thanks, what I’m interested in is how to reach contexts in 2.57, not particularly the toolbox.
For instance, how do you enter the Editing context in 2.57? (F9 doesn’t give results) I have to access the Mesh tools