C++ In Ubuntu ?

Hi , actually i want to join the Blender devolpment , i want the c++ language for ubuntu 7 … is there anyone ? , don’t tell me use google :o … i used it , and it seems that i can’t figure out how i can find an open-source c++ for ubuntu …
and one another reason is i am interested in programming for PSP …
please help
thanks

Hi,

Blender is mostly coded in C not C++. This page may be of interest: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BlenderDev/New_Dev_Info

Aligorith

im no expert on c++, but i know abit of the basics(define variables and print them).

ubuntu has a c/++ compiler by default, and is accessed using the command line with the make command.
this is where i got my limited knowledge from

but is there any program like visual studio in ubuntu ?
thanks

LOL Wow, good time for this thread to come up. I actually just spent about a half hour this morning looking for good IDEs for C++ and Linux. Here’s what I found.
Anjuta- What I’ll be using, standard for GNOME
KDevelop - I almost downloaded this, but it’s mostly for KDE apps
Dev-C++ - I’ve used it on Windows, it’s very nice

–>codeblocks www.codeblocks.org (look on the “nightly build” forum)
–>eclipse CDT (www.eclipse.org I guess! Don’t try to understand the whole eclipse framework stuff for now, just click on the c++ IDE link.)

Be default, ubuntu doesn’t install GCC nor G++, you’ll have to select those packages yourself.

erm, thats it for now!
Dani

Dev-C++ is a windows application. That won’t help you on Linux…even though the page says something about Linux too, but i’ve never seen it there…though it’s not really suitable for big projects anyway IMHO.

Btw. you don’t need any IDE to work on blender, a compiler, debugger and text editor is all you need, even in the 21st century :stuck_out_tongue:
But that’s a matter of taste i guess…i’m fine without IDEs, but then again my projects don’t have much foreign code, it’s mostly in my head anyway…so i don’t need suggestions on how to complete my code.