Call for artists

For those of you who don’t know me personally, I’m a fine artist (majored in Sculpture & Extended Media at VCU) and have used Blender for the past year-and-a-half to digitally supplement my imagination and I absolutely love it!

Anyways, due largely to COVID, a lot of brick-and-mortar exhibitions are off the table this year for myself and other sculptors, so I’m looking for a creative way to keep my portfolio looking healthy even though the real-world opportunities are scarce.

In the past when I wanted to display my work publically, instead of waiting for an opportunity to come along, I created my own opportunities by offering to curate for a handful of local galleries/event spaces and inserting myself into the mix with the other artists. So in these times of social distancing, I thought: why not create and extend the same sort of opportunity for my fellow 3D artists?

So—the idea goes like this: I’m creating a virtual gallery space in Blender, signing out rooms to maybe around 4 or 5 interested parties whose work bounces off each other in an interesting, cohesive manner, titling the exhibition, and presenting it online, perhaps through images on a dedicated Instagram page, or even (ideally) explorable in VR. There will be a FB page too and considering other platforms. If enough people show interest, it could also be ongoing, with exhibitions that switch out over the months. Sounds pretty awesome if you ask me!

So, this is my first official invite to you all! I’m looking for approximately four or five artists (for the first event) who are interested in contributing 3D sculptures and installations to this virtual gallery.