can anyone tell me if blender is any good for making clothes

Hi

I am a clothes designer and i wish to model clothes for Poser. Is Blender good for doing this and if so can anyone point me to some tutorials…

Kindest Regards,

TimmyLynn

are u hoping to do stills or animations?

Blender doesn’t have a full blown cloth simulator but cloth looking material is possible thanks to proportional editing accessable by pressing “o”

umm were working on making clothes in blender but currently its not the easiest like kansas said the proportional edit tool is nice but thats about it… I can say that it has been done before but i’m assumming it killed the artists. If your doing animation someone is working on a cloth-simulation plugin ‘soft something’

I know that it is 3rd party software, and cost quiet a bit of cash, but check out ZBrush2.0!

I use Blender, Photoshop and Zbrush exlcusivly for all my 3d work, and they complement eachother VERY VERY WELL!

Basically Zbrush has proportional editing but on a greater level of use, and you can make a very boxy jacket or pants in blender, export to Zbrush and put in wrinkles, mass under the cloth, details and wavy shapes, creating a really quality piece of clothing very fast. Then you can export it back to blender as a displacement map.

I know this doesn’t help a ton in blender, but if you were ever thinking about getting another program besides blender to help with your modeling, expecially clothes, check out ZBrush!

(I should note while Zbrush is a fantastic still modeler and creates some killer clothing items, it is not an animator, and the clothing will not act like cloth in any animations, but as a static object that you would have to deform with armatures or a plugin