cannot open 2.59 file in 2.49

i am a teacher teaching blender and one of my students has downloaded blender 2.59 and completed some of the required task at home then tried to open it on blender 2.49a here at the school and a message appears:

“cannot open 250 file, some data will be lost”

and then nothing appears when opened. is there a way to open 2.59 saved files in 2.49?

cheers.

try appending or linking

Hi,

While the bulk of data in the files should be similar, a significant number of features/systems have changed (namely the UI layouts + animation system + Grease Pencil). If you know that the file should perhaps just contain a few models, you could try appending (File -> Append) the relevant objects from the 2.5 file in 2.49, which should get most of the data in/out safely.

Or, the easy way is to just download a .zip file bundle of Blender 2.59 from the blender.org downloads section, and run from any directory once unzipped, if installation/admin rights are the issue :wink:

thanks for that guys, however i was wondering if you perhaps explain in a bit more detail. although i teach computing, it is not my strong point. i tried the file -> append thing and it didn’t show up the student’s object he created. thanks again.

What is the point in teaching old software? Shouldn’t your students have the opportunity to get informations about state of the art software? Because all the developers who made Blender 2.5 available are thinking about new features right now. You are cutting off your students from new and amazing developments and fight old battles.

Having said this here you might get a more detailed information about blender 2.4 internals:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Data_System/The_Outliner
In blender 2.5 they cut out the graphical interface to the data however the outliner gives you a detailed insight view into every piece of data stored in Blender.