Can't find blender?

I hope this is in the right place.

I’m a beginner and have downloaded previous versions of blender (2.45 and 2.48), but never really messed with them much. I had not had internet so it was difficult for me to stay updated on tutorials and such. I recently got internet and decided to dedicate more time to learning Blender and tried to download 2.5. After downloading, I could not find it, but when I clicked on the short cut icon, the first black screen that comes up said it located it and was bringing it up. But it couldn’t. The Blender screen that comes up next got a message that said something like “unknown file” or something like that. It then brought up 2.48. After reading more about 2.5 and its current issues, I decided to download 2.49b instead because I felt that it would be easier for me to learn with a program that is not still in developmental stages with bugs. I still can’t find it. I tried downloading the zip file first and after not locating it, I tried downloading the other option. Still can’t find it. What’s the difference between the 2 options and should I delete my other previous versions of Blender for it to run? I don’t know if my pc is not able to support 2.49, or something else. I don’t know what to do. Any advice?

If I am able find it and get it working I will need tutorials (preferably video or documents that I can download). Can anybody suggest good tutorials for beginners with 2.49?

Thanks in advance.

run a search for blender.exe
also, check to see where your web browser is saving downloads
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/5229/saveij.jpg

try the wikibook blender 3d: noob to pro, for a good start in blender

You can’t find the downloaded files?

It’ll be located in a downloaded folder somewhere, check your browser preferences for where this location will be.

Inside the downloaded ZIP files there will be a file called blender.exe, double clicking this will open up blender, if 2.45/ 8 worked so should 2.49 and 2.50.