Can't select bone in Weight Paint

(Viperdream) #1

Hello!
My first post on these forums :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, I’m a Blender noob and still trying to learn the whole thing.

So, I recently started with animation, I got the mesh + Armature.

But then, when I try to weight paint the thing, I can’t select a bone like everyone in the tutorial videos do, it selects the whole armature instead!

I have done everything: Name the bones, name the armature, insert modifier on the mesh…

But when I try to weight paint, I always get stuck.

I tried to make vertex groups manually but it animated pretty weird then (only a body part moving and not the whole mesh)

Any help would be appreciated! If you need more info, please ask :slight_smile:

(Richard Marklew) #2

Select the armature, go into pose mode then select the mesh and go into weight paint mode. You should then be able to select different bones and weightpaint.

(Viperdream) #3

Works now! Thanks a lot! :slight_smile:

(brokenjack) #4

Sorry to hijack this thread, but my search came up with this question, and I have a similar problem, but I still cannot select a bone in weight painting. I selected the armature>>pose mode>>selected mesh>>weight paint mode. Still cannot select bones. I’m using 2.54 r32398 for OS X. Any ideas?
thanks

(brokenjack) #5

Well on a hunch, I believe I figured it out. I’m one of the few out there who started learning blender with “left select”. When I returned the program to “right select” it worked. Is this something that should be reported, or should I just hide in shame as one of those “left select” users?

(Mike Berg) #6

This is an old thread, but it was still high in the search results when I was looking for a solution to the same problem. A friend just showed me a much better way to select a different bone while weight painting:

1. Enter Pose Mode
  2. Select a bone in the armature
  3. Shift-select the mesh
  4. Enter Weight Paint Mode