Can't wrap my head around coding, please point me in the right direction

OK, I don’t even know how to explain what my problem is. There is a disconnect and I don’t know how to get over it.

Brief background: I am not a programmer, however I would like to better understand to write my own scripts and small plug ins.

I have gone through Code Acadamy, watched many tutorials (including Blender Cloud Python) and some Khan Academy.

As I am going through everything I understand it just fine, any errors I run into I am able to figure them out without to much trouble. I can also look at code and for the most part understand what is going on.

The Problem: When I stare at a blank screen (IDE) I am completely lost. I have no clue where to start and I dont even know what direction to go in. I don’t think I fully understand the programming way of thinking.

So I decided I will hold off on Python for now and try Animation Nodes, I thought maybe that will give me baby steps into being into the correct thought process.

Well, after watching many Animation Nodes tutorials and reading many post on BSE I felt like I have a good grasp of it.

YET AGAIN!! when I stare and the empty node screen I have no clue where to start. So I just pick the nodes that I think I want and of course nothing works the way I expect them to.

I just don’t understand what my disconnect is.

I have been out of High School for a while and that was the last time I touched Algebra. So I have been going to Khan Academy to brush up on my math.

Can someone point me in the right direction to better understand a more birds eye view of programming (i.e. OOP, recursion, scopes, etc… )

Thanks

Hello, I don’t mess with Python and have only messed with Lua on the Roblox platform for fun, currently learning C# for Unity (which is surprisingly easier to learn then I imagined a year ago) however regardless of the language you’re coding in, you just need to know what you’re making and figure out how to make that thing.