Care to help out a complete noob?

Hey y’all,

I’ve been working with blender for a long time and I think I have it pretty much down. I decided to move on to working with the game engine and I came across a demo of a car driving thing and I’ve been trying to put to use in something.

Does anyone have a good link to an up to date tutorial for this sort of stuff?

So do you want to make a race game? You should be more specific.

Maybe start off with telling us what type of game you would like to learn about (FPS, TPS, Race, Fighting, SideScroller etc). As far as I can tell, FPS style games seem to have the most learning material and support when it comes to blender game engine.

Anyway, If you are just starting, I suggest you first try out this 2 Level maze game tutorial, that you can find by clicking HERE.

Well I guess you could say a race game, but I was thinking with boats maybe, but if a car would be the place to start sure. I just want to start with as little coding as possible to get a feel for the engine.

Thanks

P.S.

What are FPS, TPS games? :expressionless:

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… I’m a newb :P[/i]

Okay 2 things…
I’ve finally got the movement down (well almost). What I’m wondering is how I can make the camera less “rigid” to the object?

2nd of all… I can’t get it to stay on track… It seems to slide all over kind of “Asteroids” style… Help on that?

FPS = First Person Shooter (Half Life, Counter Strike, Doom etc)
TPS = Third Person Shooter (Socom, Mercinaries etc)

1. When you say “rigid”, what exactly do you mean?
  2. I would try setting the friction coefficient (Select maze, press F5, then press the DYN button to see settings) to something greater than zero for the maze material.

HEY GUYS, I WANNA MAKE A RPG? WHAT DO I DO?

na jk, but, will there be an updated blender ge book anytime soon?

Social,