CD Surface material.

Hey guys i’ve been told that there’s a CD surface material tutorial here in this forum but i haven’t been able to find it. I am (like duh) trying to make a CD material and would like to get that nice radial reflectivity thingamajinggit. If you know wheere to go for that tutorial or can help me out, please do tell. I’m a super noob here, just started Blender for like a month or so.

Cheers

1 Like

I don’t know about the forums (probably get a lot of results with “CD” and “texture” in them), but there was something in the release notes a while back: http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Radial_Blend_Type.677.0.html

Let me know if you need a bit of help and I’ll see what I can do. I’ve never done it myself, you understand, but colourbands can be a little odd if you haven’t used them before and I do have some experience with them.

I hope that helps.

Thanks but i’m actually trying to achieve that rainbow specularity thingamajinggit. I’ve now figured out the radial colourband thing but it’s not animated when the CD moves from the camera. Get me?

Neways if you’ve got a way around it, do share. thanks.

You could rotate the cd and keyframe it to emulate that effect.

Hm i’ve started a CD shader (based on the actual physical effect) for Lightwave a while back…never really worked 100% correctly, the best i could get was this:
http://lynx.aspect-design.de/stuff/cd04.jpg

Though on different angles it didn’t really look that great most of the time g
If someone wants to try porting the code to blender, i can publish it…
i also saved the paper i used somewhere…

Hhmm i thought of that, only thing is the CD is labeled so parts of it has that rainbow reflectivity while other parts aren’t. So it’d be obivous to the camera if i rotated it in animation. Another idea i got was to create 2 different objects/materials, one rotated one static.