Character Animation Toolkit for Blender

there is a plugin called Character Animation Toolkit, CAT (www.catoolkit.com) for 3DS MAX. It allows you to create any rig in a couple of clicks, adjust it to your mesh very quick. You don’t need to worry about setting up IK solvers or use expressions. You just animate. In 5 minutes you can create walk cycle your character and tune it in real time. Also you can save poses and animations as presets and mix the real time later.
Is there such thing for Blender3D? Maybe it’s in plans. It would be very useful asset for everyone.
I am an indie game developer and I just don’t have time to learn all technical details about IK and rigging. But I also don’t have $4400 for 3DS MAX + CAT bundle :stuck_out_tongue: Blender3D with such powerful animation module would solve my problems :slight_smile:

There is a thing called blender 2.4, which has this great thing happen to it called the animation code rewrite. This great thing happened where you could quickly create armatures with automatic I.K. Then you can do this thing called assigning vertex groups which takes all of five minutes. Also you can save poses and animations as Actions and use them later. Is there such a thing for Blender? Yes.

There is a script called walk-o-matic. I’ve never used it myself, but you might want to look into it.

Some animation scripts:
http://blender.org/cms/Python_Scripts.3.0.html

Walk-o-matic:
http://biphome.spray.se/millfield/

Unfortunately, that’s all you can do. Without putting in the hard work you’re not going to get any kinds of results unless you get a TD to do stuff for you pro bono. The best thing to do is to get a few books or DVDs on rigging and start teaching yourself; even the automated rigging systems don’t work perfectly and need tweaking, and without rigging know-how you’ll be left with something that only works 50% as well as you want it to.