Character Edge Loop Flow...

Hi all,

So I’m not very good at character or organic modeling, so I took the plunge and I think it’s coming along pretty well. The character will be rigged for animation. What’s bothering me is some of the edge loops around the back of the head. See the attached pic with the red arrow. The edge flow is around the back of the head, where as I think it should be more directed around to the ear and not the back of the head. I can’t find away to redirect the flow without adding more geometry.

The back of the head issue isn’t really much of an issue, as I don’t expect that part to be deformed. I’m just wondering how to redirect the flow of the loops. Oh, and I think I might have an issue with the nose as well, see the wireframes…

Please look at all the pictures, and comment on anything you see wrong.

Thanks for your time,
Randy

Attachments

Merge the smaller black vert marked to the larger black dot, then merge the smaller white dot with the Larger white dot…should fix your topology issues. Edge slide where necessary afterwards. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Attachments

Thanks for the input tdietz87, I made the corrections you spoke of, but it only pushed the loop flow lower in the head, so I left it as is. I watched a video at blendercookie on head modeling/topology and it appears that the edge flow he had going on is the same as mine, so I’m not too concerned about it. After all, this part of the head won’t be deformed when animated.

I went on and did the shoulder area, struggled there, but think I have good topology for deformation there, but really the only part I question is the armpits. Another area I really struggled with was the hands. I had 6 vertices leading into the hand, but finally got enough to model all the fingers and the thumb.