Character GUI picker

Hey I just started to use blender (used motionbuilder and Maya before) just to see what the fuzz is all about. My god I have only used it for a couple of days but are in love with the feature set and tools, trully amazing.

I work as a character animator and wanted to try to animate the Norman rig. I’m just curious if Blender has a way of creating GUI pickers for character to select the controls more easily. One more thing is there a pick-walking tool for instance if I have the shoulder controller selected and press down arrow to select the forearm upper arm etc.

I don’t know if I make sense but hopefully someone out there can help me, it would speed up my workflow a lot.

Cheers
/ Chris

Hello. I was also very pleasantly surprised by Blender coming from Maya, but my appreciation has just grown as I’ve stumbled across more and more useful features and details. Your post gave me the idea to write down some animation-related stuff that I would have found useful to know from the start.
This will be a chunky but pretty much off-topic post, since I don’t actually have any answers to your questions about GUI picker or pickwalking. I think I have seen some special script solutions, but it’s not been built into any of the rigs I’ve come across.

But on to the off-topic. If nothing else, it’s a bump.

General
Maybe you’ve already customised the heck out of the defaults or have a swell “everything at once” multimonitor setup. Otherwise, for starters, I recommend that you create a Dope Sheet panel above the timeline in your main layout.
The timeline has very limited features compared to Maya, which was a stumbling block for me in the beginning… but the functionality of the Dope Sheet is fantastic.
I’ll just mention two things about it - the arrow-icon to only include keys of your selected object, and T and V changes keyframe type and interpolation of your selected frames.
Keyframe input defaults can be changed under User Preferences->Editing.