Colors in Paint Template

Starting to get my head wrapped around UV texture mapping and have what I hope is a really basic question:

I want to take a screen grab of the UV editor into my image program (Photoshop Elements) and use it as a template. Nothing earth shaking there, but the colors are somewhat difficult to work with. That dashed white line on two shades of dark grey background is hard to see when the opacity is reduced.

What I really want is a white or (preferably) transparant background with the lines drawn in black. There may be some photoshop magic I can work, but I’m new to that one as well.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Andy

I may not be much help since I do not know the differences between PS Elements and regular PS. Can you color select the white lines, and copy (or cut) them to a separate layer? This would let you change their color (to black) and also control their opacity in relation to the background.
In Photoshop, this is done using Color Range… under the Select menu.

Hope this helps.

I’m mostly there, I can do an invert, and then apply a threshold layer. This gives me a white background with dark lines for my template.

One thing I cant figure out how to do in Elements is take the white and delete it so that all I am left with is transparancy.

I think I can do this in GIMP, but I’m trying to simplify my life somewhate and GIMP doesn’t seem to work well with my tablet.

-Andy

This is what I use.

http://uvmapper.com/classic.htm

Simple to use. Export your object from Blender with the OBJIO script.
Open the obj file with UVMapper. You can change the mapping type
with this program (cylinder, planar, spherical, etc…). When you find a map you like, save the object…and then save the texture as a bitmap.
Open that bitmap with GIMP, add a new transparent layer, set the transparency level to 80%, paint away. When you are finished, set the transparency level to opaque, flatten the image, and save.