Committing a change without losing a selection?

I’m a longtime 3d artist, but still learning Blender.

Sometimes I find I want to commit a modeling change and the enter key alone doesn’t seem to do that while also closing the popup as I wish.

So I end up left just left-clicking somewhere, usually off in an empty spot in the viewport.

While this usually works I lose my selection, which I find a little frustrating. Can anyone suggest what I’m missing?

Related…Sometimes the popup persists on the screen no matter how I click or type “esc.” Is there a way to consistently tell Blender, “done with what, I want to move on…”

Usually the LMB confirms your changes and about “popup”: according to https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/interface/window_system/regions.html there is somethink like Adjust Last Operation (F9) which can be disabled with View → Adjust Last Operation (see https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/interface/undo_redo.html#bpy-ops-screen-redo-last)…

Thank you for your informative reply.

I like Blender’s UI, but this is something I wish were a bit different. If LMB is the primary way to confirm…then I will always lose my selection. Unless there is something I am missing?

An operation (for example extrude) is confirmed by LMB.
Maybe i didn’t undertand:

What exactly do you mean by commit a modeling change ?

Unless you’re talking about modals (like the knife tool), there is no need to ‘confirm’ the changes. The operator popup is just showing you the last action and allowing you to adjust it, it’s not a state and so doesn’t need to be exited through confirmation.

It seems that some actions aren’t ‘fixed’ or completed without LMB click. And there are times I want to dismiss the popup. To follow with init-pixel’s post, I suppose I must learn which functions are modal. Is there a list of those, or a way of knowing when I’m in a modal state?