[COMPLETE] - Fishy POV | Make a splash in Amsterdam #bcon22challenge

– Finally complete! –

Hello Community!

I’m so excited about this! My name is Pau Homs and I’ve been using Blender for about 5 years now and this contest seems like a very fun way to connect with everybody :slight_smile:

I’ve decided to remake the “Fishy Cat” splash from Blender 2.74, by Manu Järvinen, since it’s the one that impressed me the most when starting learning Blender (those times…!). The twist? It’ll be from an actual tide up fish’s point of view. Basically, portraying the cutest ever splash screen as this hideous, threatening monster.

Looking forward to share the process here as I go and check out everyone else’s progress.

Good luck to everyone!

18 Likes

To start, and actually this comes before deciding to participate, I wanted to make sure that the concept could work. I did some quick sketches in my notebook and then make a concept of the scene in Krita.

Usually, my way to tell if a concept is effective or not is If I find myself laughing while sketching the idea. In this case, I did hahahaha. It kinda feels ridiculous but it’s a nice moment to see your idea starting to come to life.

This will be a challenge since I’m a bit rusty on my character modeling and texturing skills and lighting and optimizing, specially hair, fire and volumetrics for sketchfab will be a challenge. I certainly will learn a lot!

Let’s see how it goes!

16 Likes

Is this your Sketchfab account? I want to make sure I’m following you there.

1 Like

It is! Thank you!

1 Like

As i fellow contender i don’t like this entry, because it’s way too cute, and i’m calling the police! :laughing:

2 Likes

Hahahahaha thank you! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Ugly post: