Completely new to Blender, some questions

Hello Blender Artists community, I am completely new to Blender and to 3D software in general and I hope I have come to the right place for basic help. Depending on how much free time I will have in the future to devote to practicing with Blender and on how much you will be able to bear with me, I look forward to becoming a relatively active member on this forum. My hope is that one day I will be able to help others here and improve my skills by doing so.

Now, I can barely wait to get these first few questions answered since they are all about the interface of Blender and it is arguably quite important to know your way around it very well. Blender’s interface, particularly how it behaves, is obviously very different from what I’m used to (which would be the standard Mac OS X interface).

• Pulldown menus always disappear when mousing out of them. My question: is there a way to make them close only by clicking? And if that’s possible, is there a way to make it show a different pulldown menu if I put my cursor onto a new pulldown menu button while not having clicked anywhere yet? (E.g. I would click on “Add” in the Info bar in the top-left of Blender, then move the cursor over “Render” and it would show that pulldown menu without me having to make another click.) That would make it behave like the Mac OS X menus which I do find easier to use.
  • Adding a primitive like a UV Sphere opens a set of options in the Tool Shelf where I can set the number of longitudinal segments for the sphere and such. My problem is that I have so far been unsuccessful in finding a way to get this set of options back once I switch to a different tool. Aside from adding another UV Sphere, deleting it and selecting the original one again, how do I get it back?