Confusion over "local" coordinate transforms in constraints.

Hello, Having recently watched the Blender Cookie Mechanical Rigging Tutorial I decided to try this method to rig a little minifig model I’ve made.

I’ve hit a snag trying to rig the hands though, I’ve parent the hand object to an empty that has the correct orientation to rotate nicely around the z-axis. If I select this object in the 3d View and perform a rotation around local-Z it does exactly what I expect. However, if I add a constraint ( copy rotation, or transform ) to the empty to the helper control object (and set to local space) the rotation I get doesn’t seem to be in this space.

I am new to this, so I’ve likely made a silly mistake, or these words do not mean what I think they mean!

Any guidance you can offer on how to get this working is gratefully received. Thankyou.

Here’s the bust minifig .blend file.

The Hand

The Empty (Wrist)

The Control I want to hook up

As far as I know Local axis has to do with Armatures and Pose space. Armature works within its own space. That way when you reset it, they will go back to where it was placed; there 0, 0, 0. Objects including Empty works in Global space.

I’ve used “localspace” constraints on the legs, head and arms, and they’re working fine, it’s just the hands that are causing me grief.

Thanks for the link, I think I have a good understanding of local/world (and other) spaces in ordinary contexts, and indeed it’s working entirely as I’d expect for the other constraints which are based on local translations.

Alas for the wrist empty the “local” rotation an attached constraint provides is not matching the “local” rotation experienced by the object when I manipulate it in the viewport. Constraining either the empty or the hand itself seem to fail much the same, and I have tried adding in another empty in the hierarchy to separate concerns to no avail.