Connecting spheres with cylinders, molecule style

Hello! Extreme newbie here… :slight_smile:

Trying to create a model of a molecule. I used this tutorial to create lollipop like objects and position them around a center sphere:

Now I need to connect the outer spheres between them with other cylinders.

I have two problems:

1. It’s very hard to properly position a new cylinder between two outer spheres. Would it be possible to select two of the spheres and tell Blender something like “add a cylinder mesh between the center of the selected objects”?

2. Once two outer spheres are connected (I could do it easily keeping everything on the same plane), if I use the same technique as in the tutorial, I wasn’t able to move the outer spheres in 3D space - the cylinder connecting to the center sphere would be disconnected. Is there a way to create the molecule model with all the connection I need and then be able to move the spheres in 3D without losing their connection?

In essence, I want to create something like this and be able to move the spheres while keeping them connected:

(image source)

Can it be done? Thanks for any hints or tips… :slight_smile:

Bruno G.
Montreal, QC

1 Like

The way the tutorial shows should work fine without losing connection.
To move a set of vertices to a specific location you can do so by using snap while you move the vertices.

there is a soft script to make molecules/atomss
did you check it ?

also for simple model did you checn the array DNA example in wiki

salutations

Here’s a different way:

• Make a sphere
  • Make a wireframe mesh (eg: no faces, just edges and verts) in the shape of the molecule
  • Set the sphere’s parent to be that wireframe object
  • Select the wireframe object and in “object panel” -> “duplication” choose verts - you get a sphere at each vert