Constraining vertices to planes

Hullo BlenderArtists, I’m hoping people here can help me. I’m very very new to Blender and it’s only in the last two days that I’ve successfully built ANYTHING at all - previously I’d get frustrated and end up bludgeoning myself to death with a laser printer, then abandoning all modelling ambition and playing Team Fortress 2 for six months instead of doing anything creative!

I’m using Blender to build aircraft for the X-Plane simulator. Trying to model a Gulfstream business jet which has six flat windscreen panels. I can’t find a decent 3-view to work from so I’m placing them by eye, which is difficult when each panel must remain completely flat.

Here’s my exact problem:

(I went ahead and extruded the windowframes from each panel edge. Please ignore that and pretend you’re looking at three plain quads.)

Three flat panels on each side. When I first made these panels they were completely flat (by selecting three vertices, Align View To Selection, then placing the fourth) but I had to scale the whole lot slightly to make it fit the rest of the aircraft, and this distorted the middle panel. Given how the windscreen defines the look of an aircraft, externally and from the flightdeck, this is a very important thing to get right!

Ideally, I’d like to be able to move all the red vertices wherever I want to move them, and have the yellow vertices constrained so that:

1. D is on the ABC and CEF planes
  2. F is on the CDE and EGH planes

The ABC and CEF planes define an edge, and point D can slide up and down that edge such that ABCD and CDEF both stay flat. So I’d move the cursor to the z-level I want D to be at, scale D to 0 in the z-axis, and it would move up or down the ABC/CEF edge until it’s at the z-level of the cursor.

Then I can adjust the red vertices by eye, with the flat panels constantly staying flat, until I end up with something that more closely resembles the photographs.