Constraint - factory sequence workflow

Hi. I am creating an animation that shows a production process workflow.

There is a recurrent situation in these types of animations where one element gets moved through different stages. How do you usually work in these situations?

I am for example trying to use constraints:

The block has a child on the crane and I was expecting to add a second child to the destination point.
I swapped the influence: when the crane leaves the block the influence to the crane gets back to 0 and the destination empty influence is 1. But it returns to the primal position instead of staying in the new empty position.

This is my first attempt. Ideally, I would love to be able to leave the object in the last position of the child. But I can see with 0 influence the object returns to the original position.

Questions:

1. Would you deal with this workflow using child of constraint?
  2. Is there any way where my object stays in the last position of the parent when I set the influence to 0 (I am almost sure that this is not possible).
  3. Then how to “override” the position to a new empty?

Thank you

Sure, why not. Sometimes, I like adding a layer of indirection, so I’d child-of an empty instead, and then copy transforms from that empty. But that’s for leaving my options open and between-frames interpolation. Doing it directly on the cube is fine.

You will be happy to hear that this is super possible. The thing you’re looking for is a “visual transform”. You can create a visual transform at the same time that you set your influence to 0 by hitting the little x button to the right of the influence slider. (You can also do it with “apply visual transform” operation, but that can be a little confusing in this situation.)

If for some reason you couldn’t apply visual transform like I mentioned, you could make a copy transforms constraint, which, on world->world, is going to override all earlier constraints (and keyframed transforms.)

1 Like