Controlling Render Order of Elements in a 2D Scene

I’m working on a proof-of-concept for a 2D isometric game (like the old Black Isle CRPGs on the Infinity engine) using the BGE, and I’m now to the point where I’ve hit a wall concerning how to set up and layer various game assets so that they give the illusion of the characters travelling around and behind different objects and structures in a 2D scene.

So far, I’ve created a scene in 3D, and rendered out both a normal image of it, and a z-depth map image if it, but that’s where my knowledge ends right now. I’m not even sure if I’m on the right track with doing that, either.

What I’m stuck on now is:

1. How & when to mask off certain elements of a scene in order to control render order.
  2. How to control render order of a 2D scene via the BGE logic/Python.

I could be going about this the wrong way for all I know; so the more information, techniques and suggestions I can get, the better.

Hey!

Well I am not really experienced with 2D games in the BGE, but I would say you can controll it via the Z position of objects.
That way objects with a higher Z position will have a higher render priority.
An alternative way would be to adjust the Z depth of the materials, I am not sure whether this works as expected but it might be worth a try!

As a guess, are you trying to do an isometric game traditionally (i.e. via setting up sprites and things looking down on the Z-axis)? I would recommend basically building the scene in 3D, and just using an orthographic camera. With an orthographic camera, it would basically look 2D.

Yeah, that’s what I’m going for; doing it the traditional way, like the old games. Partly to save on memory usage, partly because of the level of detail I can fit into a 2D image, compared to a 3D scene.

I started out that way, but my intent is to learn how to create a traditional 2D isometric game, rather than fake it by taking the “easy” way out using 3D and an orthographic view point.