Copying Particle Hair

I have been wondering if it is possible to copy a particular particle hair from one model to another? The reason I want to do this is that I experienced a weird bug in blender in that when I deleted some unnecessary polygons on the mesh, the hair strands just totally fudged up. So, I decided to stick with it, but I then removed it at a later date.

Basically, I want to copy the one hair style from a previous save that has it positioned like I want it, to the new save with no hair style. I really don’t feel like doing the hair style over, because I had it like I wanted it, and I really don’t feel like spending a whole lot of time redoing it.

Thanks,
Metric

While I am not sure on the process, I think you can do this through the append/Link option in blender. If the object is in the same scene, (Ctrl L) copies materials. (Ctrl C) copies basically everything else including modifiers.

I hope this helps. I am still learning blender myself

Hmm, I just tried it and interestingly the particle system repeats the bug when copying from the one mesh to the other. That I had previously stated about when I deleted some faces on the inside of the mesh that were not needed.

I attached the screens to show you what I mean. The only difference between the two models is that the one on the left has just a few faces that were deleted, that were on the inside of the mesh.

The one on the right is the one with the correct particle hair positioning. The one on the left which was I copied the particle system from the other to is totally fubarred.

the no_bug.jpg shows the hand when the particle hair is properly positioned and where the additional polygons were.

the bugged.jpg shows the hand of the one with the particle hair bug. Notice, that the polygons on the inside have been removed, and that is the only difference between the 2.

Note: I am using Blender 2.47 the latest stable version.