Correct way to use specular map with nodes?

Hi. I’m wondering if I’m doing this correctly (I’m pretty new to nodes). Anyway, I read that specular maps should be used with an Add Shader or else it’ll be dim in some parts if a Mix Shader is used. However, when looking at the Add Shader node, I don’t see a Fac input for it.

I do see some specularity with my approach below but I’m unsure if what I did is the best way to go about using the specular map.

Here’s what I currently have:

Edit: Also, what should the color space for the specular map be in? I’m assuming Non-Color since specular maps uses black and white data, right? But then how come some of the specular maps actually have color in them?

hi, if i am not mistaken the rgb to bw is not necessary, because you are already plugging the image into a math node (non color data inputs)

1 Like

Why should it? The shaders are combined together. When you have mix shader at 0.5 factor, only half of each shaders output are added together, half of specular shader and half the other shader even if it is not covered by specular bsdf. Specular lighting is highly reflective in nature so for polygons facing away from camera those light rays are not captured. You will ended up with less light and thus dimmer material…

I think we need to know what you’re trying to achieve here, if you just want to make part of the image shiny, you could plug it into the specular or roughness input without all the other nodes (depending on what you’re trying to to). What material are you creating?

edit: it looks like you’re using the albedos alpha channel to provide alpha AND the diffuse color with 2 different nodes, why not just use the same one at the top (if thats what it is) and use both of its outputs?

What material are you creating?

I’m trying to create a window where only the glass is shinier than the rest of the window (see below for the image textures).