Correctly Rendering with Cycles in Blender?

I’m new to Blender, and on a Mac (see below for specs if need be). I’ve only been at it for a couple months and I’m learning it on my own. I have no prior experience with 3D design whatsoever, but I’ve made some great progress.

I am a little confused about Cycles Rendering. I was under the impression that it rendered in real time now instead of in boxes per the Blender Internal Engine… I think. I’ve never used that one. I have Cycles Render selected.

This is what I am experiencing: When I press Shift+Z I can see the image rendering in real time! Cool! But when I go to the render button (the little black camera button) and press Render, it no longer renders in real time, but in boxes on the screen, and it goes much more slowly.

Is this supposed to happen? O.o

In short, what is the proper way I should be saving my renders and making the best of cycles?

Thanks for the read. Hope you can set me straight. :slight_smile:

• Macbook Pro 2013 13" blah blah 2.5GHz Core i5 blah blah Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB bloopy blah

Is this supposed to happen?
Yes, unless you choose ‘Progressive Refine’ under the Render / Performance settings. This will however render your scene slower for the same number of samples

Not quite the right concept. And by no means “real time”.
Here’s how it works:
Cylces will give you a rough but fast preview of the current frame when you press Shit+z.